How do learners access the assessment?
When a student has an unlocked assessment, they will see a call-to-action on their class dashboard prompting them to start (or continue). Students who've already completed the assessment won't see this prompt at all, even if the assessment is unlocked.
If no assessments are unlocked for their current class, of if they have already completed the assessment, they see the normal hero card pointing to their learning queue instead.
Please note that assessment completion is tracked at individual student level. Students will not be able to complete the same assessment twice in the same window without a retake, even if they are in multiple connected classes.
If a student has multiple assessments unlocked for the same class at the same time (rare occurence), they can select which assessment to work on.
If a teacher locks the assessment while a student is still working on it, they will see a “that’s a wrap” screen on their next action.
Note: Any student work submitted after assessment is locked will not be saved, since it may not have been completed in a proctored environment.
Manage Retakes
Most implementation issues (wrong account, rushing, technical problems, etc.) can be resolved by assigning a retake. This allows students to start the assessment over again from the beginning, and it archives their previous score.
Teachers (and administrators) can assign retakes by navigating to the completion report and using the “Manage retakes” button.
Retakes may be a assigned to any students who have started, or completed, the assessment. Students who have not started the assessment do not need a retake because they are already starting from the beginning.
Teachers can view behavioral data (progress, time spent, rushing) to determine whether students put forth reasonable effort.
Teachers must provide a reason for each assigned retake. Teachers can select a single reason for all students or a separate reason for each individual.
Important Note: Once a retake is assigned, it immediately resets the student's status — there's no undo.